If 9-9-9 Wins, The Republicans Lose

I confess, I am astounded by the meteoric rise of Herman Cain. I suppose Romney turns off many conservative voters, understandably so. I can’t say that I’m surprised though. I am sure I probably mentioned this before (I’m just not prepared to dig back three years so check whether I predicted this), but ever since the last election, I have been ridiculously skeptical of anything offered by the GOP, especially when it comes to candidates. There isn’t a single one that excites me; that was true as three years ago as it is today.

I was completely disenfranchised with “Maverick” McCain who seemed to shift his position to the right much more when he was running for office. Even putting Mormonism aside – which a portion of Americans cannot do – Romney’s east coast governing sends shivers down many small-government conservatives.

Now comes Herman Cain touting his 9-9-9 plan. Never mind the plan not being thoroughly vetted and him not having any foreign policy experience. He continues to hold high numbers in the polls. I personally think that if he is elected, the GOP will be solidly thumped in the general election. Cain’s 9-9-9 plan is catchy, but that’s exactly what it is – more of a catch phrase rather than a meritorious, plausible program. But he seems to be capitalizing off the slogan. This morning, while reading the Drudge Report, I came across this advertisement.

myWPEdit Image

If this is the best the GOP has to offer, I submit that November 2012 will be Obama’s election to lose. Even though much hay has been made in the tabloids that no sitting president has won reelection when unemployment has been above above 7.2% with the exception of Reagan. Low approval numbers are also not in Obama’s favor. As mentioned by the Washington Post:

At 43 percent approval in a Gallup poll conducted Oct. 28-30, Mr. Obama recently referred to himself as an “underdog” — with good reason. Of all the presidents since World War II whose job-approval scores were lower than 50 percent one year before Election Day, only one went on to win a second term.

The exception – President Nixon.

But with the circus of candidates in the Republican party, Obama doesn’t need low-employment numbers or high approval numbers. The cards are still in his favor.

3 thoughts on “If 9-9-9 Wins, The Republicans Lose

  1. Thanks for the reply Tory. It seems like “someone” has caught the “Mitt-mentum” – but this doesn’t seem to be the case with the rest of the conservative voters. I’m not against Mitt Romney; he isn’t my first choice – but again, I don’t have a first choice in the upcoming election (at least, there has not been a candidate that has thoroughly excited me). And maybe that’s the point, Romney is the de facto second choice candidate. Your comment raises three question, and I’ll address each in turn. Who is the is the GOP frontrunner? It’s hard to say. Conservatives aren’t thrilled with Romney, but he hasn’t plummeted in the polls and gone the way of Rick Perry. I don’t know that there is an undisputed leader, but there appears to be a tie for second place: Romney and Cain.

    Still, is Mitt Romney more electable than Herman Cain? I believe the answer to this is “yes” only if Mitt Romney carries enough clout to garner the GOP nomination. Herman Cain arguably – at this point in time – places Romney’s assurance of the nomination in doubt.

    But the final question – whether Mitt Romney can succeed against Obama is one where reasonable minds can differ. I’m, of course, quite skeptical of this probability. Possible, yes – probable, no. You’ll say, “President Romney”, and I’m bunkering down for another four years.

    Still, the race is fluid and I believe anything is possible. Possible, not probable.

  2. Pingback: Deraining the Cain Train | ExDeserto

Leave a Reply

