Working Mothers – Homemaking Isn’t Enough


Get the kids out of bed. Make breakfast. Send them to school. Wait. Wait. Wait. Make dinner. Help kids with homework. Go to bed. What to do with those afternoon hours…

If I didn’t know any better, I would almost think that being a mom would be a walk in the park, a part time job. Some women might agree.

As Tucson news reporter Jenny Anchondo finds, working moms may actually be happier moms. How can this be? Although hardly a representative sample, one woman explains:

Usually when I was unhappy, it was being driven by guilt. Guilt because I wasn’t giving enough at the office or guilt because I didn’t feel like I was giving enough at home,” said Klewer, a working mom and CPA who runs Ludwig Klewer & Co.

Now, [she has] found [her] own ways to make [herself] and [her family] happy.

Klewer realized she’s a better mom when she’s working outside the home.

The logic behind this conclusion is absurd. It sounds as if Klewer found herself at a cross roads trying to balance her career and her family. While originally driven by guilt by not committing enough time to either endeavor, she rationalized that by working she would be a better mom. I will grant that working women do develop useful skills that carry over in raising families. They may occasionally burn the midnight oil; they understand the importance of social interaction; they realize the importance of competency and know the risk of dismissal.

While these skills are transferable, I disagree that they serve as license to balance full-time career and family.

Ms. Anchondo further reports that mothers in Buenos Aires, Argentina work guilt-free. I sincerely question the validity of that conclusion. Even if it were correct, there is probably a large segment of women in America that agree.

My biggest complaint with this article is that it implicitly legitimizes – under the guise of objective reporting – the notion that career and family are separate entities both of which may be pursued equally and in tandem.

Being a mom is not a part-time job; it is rigorous, time consuming – but fulfilling. Her job descriptors: “housekeeper, day care center teacher, cook, computer operator, facilities manager, van driver, psychologist, laundry machine operator, janitor and chief executive officer.” How much time is left for her other “career”?

One thought on “Working Mothers – Homemaking Isn’t Enough

  1. Where do you even start with logic bashing when reviewing such an article? It’s just such a different view. It reminds me of my friend yesterday being taught in that there is no such thing as post-abortion depression and that women only feel relief afterwards!!

    “However, the authors say that the best path is your own path without guilt” – Are you kidding? I would not want to read “What Happy Working Mothers Know!” The operative word being ‘happy,’ what is the measure of true happiness? Not feeling guilty?

    As a former child with a working mother, I am thankful that my mom chose to nurture me and
    spend time with me – when she could – even if she was not “happy” all the time. Is this
    thought really true: “I would rather have my mom feel not guilty for rushing me off to other
    caregivers even if she is not financially dependent on working rather than quality time with
    her?” Ugh!

Leave a Reply

